enfrdeelitru

Limassol Karneval




Karneval in Zypern | Geschichte

Karneval wurde im antiken Griechenland gefeiert. Feste wurden zu Ehren des Gottes Dionissos organisiert. Die alten Griechen bekam in verschiedenen Kostümen gekleidet, trugen Masken und hatten Spaß in Festen für Tage. Zyprioten behielt diesen Brauch. Der Ursprung des Karnevals geht zurück auf die sehr Vergangenheit und ist eng mit der Geschichte der Griechen verknüpft.

Es scheint, dass es ein Fest bis in die Antike bezogen ist: die dionysischen Feste genannt "dionysischen", bei denen ein Wettbewerb stattfand unter drei großen Tragiker des antiken Griechenland: Aischylos, Euripides und Sophokles, drei Dramatikern unserer Geschichte. In alten Zeiten, soweit wir wissen, und fromwhat wir lesen, verwendet die Schauspieler masques während der dramatischen Brille und komödiantische Leistungen zu tragen. Es ist offensichtlich, dass der moderne Weg, um sich während der Karneval Festlichkeiten von Verschleierung von dieser Gewohnheit ableitet.

Karneval in Zypern wurde mit Beginn des Fastens von Ostern verbunden. Karneval wurde "Apokries" genannt, was bedeutet im Griechischen "ohne Fleisch". Es wurde mit Festen und traditionellen Spielen gefeiert. Darüber hinaus haben die Leute in den Kostümen gekleidet und trugen Masken, um andere zu erschrecken.

Genau wie viele andere Feste und kulturelle Traditionen, die zyprische Karneval heute eigentlich zurück zum Anfang des letzten Jahrhunderts, als Häuser in Limassol ihre Türen geöffnet und begrüßt rund Freunde und Familie für ein Fest der Speisen und Weine. Limassol hält den größten jährlichen Karneval auf der Insel Zypern. Der Limassol Karneval ist eine wichtige Institution: eine Tradition für die Limassolians, die am Leben bleibt und während Zeiten überleben wird.

Limassol Der Karneval aber ein Fest, das alle von uns erwarten ungeduldig und bereitwillig zu genießen. Es wurde in einer organisierten Art und Weise seit der Vergangenheit, als Gruppen von Feiernden aus allen sozialen Schichten der Stadt organisiert in ihren Häusern Treffen und organisierten Paraden mit Esel, Kutschen, Broughams und Fahrräder gefeiert. Die Menschen dieser Gegend fühlte eine große Befriedigung ihrer Mitbürger persifliert Situationen verkleidet beobachten, Personen und verschiedene Dinge, die direkt oder indirekt mit dem Alltag und der Wirklichkeit ihrer Zeit verbunden.

Karneval ist in den Städten überall auf Zypern gefeiert, vor allem aber in der Stadt Limassol. In unseren Tagen beginnen Faschingsveranstaltungen auf der "Faschings Donnerstag" (das letzte Fleisch essen) mit dem König Karneval Eingabe der Stadt in festlicher Atmosphäre. Dann folgt die Parade der Kinder, die verschiedenen Serenaden "zeigt und schließlich die großartigen Karnevals-Parade, die am letzten Sonntag der Karnevalsfeiern statt.

Viele Menschen in schicken Kleidern teilnehmen eine besondere razzledazzle zu genießen. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit wurde auf die Dekoration der Stadt gegeben. Alle Orte, wo Feste geplant sind, sowie die zentralen Eckpunkte der Stadt, in einer so geniale Art und Weise wie möglich gestaltet.

Parteien gehalten werden und Menschen versammeln Spottlieder zum Schlemmen, singen und spielen. Der letzte Sonntag der "Cheese Week" ist der Höhepunkt des Karnevals. Dies ist, wenn das Grand Carnival Parade am letzten "Green Monday" oder den ersten Tag der lieh nimmt.

Bunte Wagen und Gruppen von Menschen, Gesang und Tanz, Paraden in den Hauptstraßen von Limassol schaffen eine wahrhaft festliche Atmosphäre. Die Open-Air-Feste und Schlemmen statt im ganzen zypriotischen Städte aber die Grand Parade in Limassol ist der Gipfel Fokus des Karnevals. Während der Karneval-Parade große Menschenmengen aus der ganzen Insel versammeln sich die Schwimmer von den Serenaden und erstaunliche kostümierten Gruppen begleitet zu beobachten.

Limassol Karneval 2017

KARNEVAL 2017 16 / 2 - 26 / 2 / 2017 PROGRAMM

KARNEVAL 2017 16 / 2 - 26 / 2 / 2017 PROGRAMM

Dienstag
Februar 14
7.00 Uhr Limassol Marina Square
Die Limassol Gemeinde in Zusammenarbeit mit Limassol Marina integrieren, die Rhythmen des Karnevals in den Puls der Stadt. Genießen Sie ein Musikprogramm vom Ariones Chor, gefolgt von einer Limassol Majoretten 'zeigen. Eine Parade folgen mit Punkt für die Einweihung des "Limassol Karneval 2016" Ausstellung der ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Kulturzentrum endet.

7.30 Uhr ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Kulturzentrum in Limassol Marina Die Limassol Gemeinde und die Zypern-Gesellschaft für Photographie - Limassol Branch, Co-Organisation des Pancyprian Fotowettbewerb und Ausstellung zum Thema "Limassol Karneval 2016". Die Ausstellung wird auch eine Auswahl von Fotografien aus verschiedenen Karnevalsveranstaltungen verfügen. Karneval Kostüme werden ausgestellt.
Öffnungstage und Öffnungszeiten:
MITTWOCH Februar 15, 10.00 bin - 1.00 Uhr & 3.00 Uhr - 7.00 Uhr
Donnerstag, Februar 16, 10.00 bin - 1.00 Uhr
Die Veranstaltung wird mit freundlicher Unterstützung des ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Kulturzentrums statt.

Der Bürgermeister Herr Nicos Nicolaides wird die Ausstellung eröffnen.

Theomaria Art Gallery

Mittwoch
Februar 15

6.00 pmTown Halle
Die Limassol Gemeinde und die Limassol Union der Autodidakt Maler coorganise eine Ausstellung mit dem Titel "Karneval 2017". Der Chor der Kato Polemidia Gemeinde teilnehmen werden.

7.00 Uhr Theomaria Art Gallery
(7, Vasilissis Karlottas & Elenis Paleologinas str.)
Die Theomaria Art Gallery organisiert für die 11th Jahr in Folge die Karnevalsmaske Ausstellung von Vera Efthimiou Parlalidou. Workshops, wie Keramik und Papier-Masken zu erstellen und zu dekorieren werden aus der 15th zum 25th Februar statt.

Der Bürgermeister von Limassol Herr Nicos Nicolaides werden die Ausstellungen einweihen.

Die Limassol Serenaders wird am Saripolou Platz singen.

Donnerstag
Februar 16
11.00 Uhr
Karneval Feste vor dem Limassol Cooperative Sparkasse (Gladstonos Straße) und die Bank of Cyprus (Ayiou Andreou Straße).

12.30 pm
Die Limassol Serenaders wird am Saripolou Platz singen.

5.30 Uhr Rathaus
Der Bürgermeister und der Gemeinderat, die von der Brass Limassol Gemeinde begleitet Band und die Limassol Majoretten wird Parade durch die Straßen bis zum Grigoris Afxentiou Platz.

5.30 Uhr Grigori Afxentiou Platz

Grigori Agxentiou-Platz (vor dem Bezirksamt) wird lebendig und lockt uns in die Karnevalsrhythmen mit Hilfe des Radioproduzent Marios Papadopoulos.

Die Party geht weiter mit der Lime & Sol-Gruppe und der Batukinio Perkussionsinstrumente Gruppe, lädt uns zum Rhythmus der Salsa zu tanzen.

7.00 pm Die Königin des Karnevals, "Das tiefe Blau des Mittelmeers" wird die Stadt mit ihrem Gefolge begleitet ein. Die Königin wird durch den Bürgermeister und die Mitglieder des Gemeinderats, die königliche Familie, Gruppen von Serenaders, die Limassol Gemeinde Brass Band, dem Limassol Majoretten der Zypern-Girl Guides Association, der Schlaginstrumente Batukinio Gruppe umgeben sein und die Limassol Majoretten.

Die Parade wird von Grigoris Afxentiou-Platz (vor dem Bezirksamt-Gebäude) auf den Weg und werden den folgenden Straßen durchlaufen: Anexartisias, Ayiou Andreou, Karaiskaki (Stadtbibliothek), Stasinou und Andrea Drousioti Straßen und enden an der Heldenplatz, wo eine Partei findet zu den Klängen der Musikgruppe Ritmo di Carnaval nehmen.

Kinderchöre - Pattihio Stadttheater
Freitag
Februar 17
7.30p.m. Kinderchöre - Pattihio Stadttheater
Abend von Serenaden und Karnevalslieder von der Kinderchor der Papadakion Municipal School of Music, der Musikwerkstatt, Kinderchor und Piccolo von Epilogi, die Armonia Chor und Kinderchöre von "Melodies kai Chromata" und Dreams 'Chor.
Eintritt: € 5

Die Gemeinde-Kinder Zug (Spende des Limassol Co-operative Sparkasse) wird rund um die Stadt auf Tour
Samstag
Februar 18
10.30a.m.
Die Gemeinde-Kinder Zug (Spende des Limassol Co-operative Sparkasse) wird in der Stadt unterwegs sein. Die erste Tour findet im 10.30a.m nehmen. mit den Epilogi Piccolo und Werkstattchor singt Karnevalslieder. Andere Touren werden folgen.
Startpunkt: Limassol Co-operative Sparkasse (Gladstonos Street).

Im Innenhof der Bank Limassol genossenschaftlichen Spar-, wird die Gemeinde von Limassol Betrieb ein Workshop über Konfetti Eier aus Wachs sowie verrückt Maske Werkstatt.

11.00 bin - 2.00p.m. Grigoris Afxentiou-Platz (vor dem Bezirksbürogebäude)
Die Limassol Gemeinde und der Radiosender Wahl FM 104.3 co-organisieren eine Schatzsuche für die 9th Jahr in Folge (für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte 25820820 / Beteiligungen: www.choicefm.com.cy).

3.00 pm Der Limassol Cycling Club radeln in einer Karnevalsstimmung in der Stadt.
Ausgangs- und Endpunkt: Mittelalterliche Schlossplatz.

6.00 Uhr Serenaders "Ereignis bei der Hellenic Bank (52, Gladstonos str.)


Die Hellenic Bank und die Limassol Serenaders, Co-organisieren ein Fest mit Serenaden und Karnevalslieder mit der Teilnahme des EDON Serenaders, der Moderni Keri Chor, der Ariones Chor und Limassol Serenaders. Freie Getränke werden angeboten.

7: 30 pm Studio 8 School of Art & Design (22, Panou Solomonide str.)
Die Limassol Gemeinde und Studio 8 School of Art & Design laden alle das Ereignis "Wiederbelebung der alten Limassol Karneval Tage" zu verbinden. Die Veranstaltung wird von Herrn Mimis Sophocleous, Academic und Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Limassol Historische Archiv und dem Bürgermeister von Limassol, Herr Nicos Nicolaides vorangestellt werden, die die Eröffnung der Ausstellung beginnt.

Die Limassol Gemeinde belebt eine satirische Schwimmer des verstorbenen Künstler und Schöpfer Costas Mavrogenis, Baujahr 1968.

Besucher werden die Gelegenheit haben, eine Fotografie-Ausstellung von Karnevalswagen zu genießen.

Kinderkarneval Parade
Sonntag
Februar 19
11.30 am Kinderkarnevalsumzug
Startpunkt: Direkt am Meer Straße (gegenüber Citizen Service Center - in der Nähe des alten Hafens Kreisverkehr).
Ende: Stadtgarten (Eingang Süd)

6.00 Uhr Serenaders Event vor der Perama Musik Bühne
Songs von den Georgalletos Serenaders. Die Veranstaltung richtet sich an die Erinnerung an den Gründer der Gruppe Giorgos Georgalletos gewidmet ist.

Die Giorgalletos Serenaders wird in Ayia Fyla Viertel singen.
Montag
Februar 20
Serenaders an den Limassol Nachbarschaften und Quartiere:
7.30 pm Die Giorgalletos Serenaders wird in Ayia Fyla Viertel singen.

Dienstag
Februar 21
Serenaders an den Limassol Nachbarschaften und Quartiere:
7.30 pm Die zyprische Serenaders wird bei Zakaki Quartal singen.
7.30 pm Der Monterni Keri Chor wird in den kommenden Quartalen von Apostolos Andreas und Ayios Ioannis singen.
7.30 pm Die Edon Serenaders wird bei Ayios Nicolaos Quartal singen.

8.00 Uhr "Pellomaska" Parade
Die Limassol Gemeinde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem "Lemesos" Zeitung laden Sie die "Pellomaska" Parade (verrückten Kostüm Parade) zu verbinden.
Startpunkt: Heldenplatz
Endpunkt: Mittelalterliche Schlossplatz

8.30 Uhr Dienstag Karneval Fiesta auf der mittelalterlichen Burgplatz
Menschen aller Altersgruppen werden durch die Limassol Gemeinde eingeladen, die Veranstaltung verkleidet zu besuchen und in einem großen Karnevalsrausch mit Musik und Tanz teilnehmen.
Freistil Karnevals-Kostüm-Wettbewerb - Prämiert werden die besten drei Teilnehmer gegeben werden.
Limassol Tetrafonia
Mittwoch
Februar 22
7.30 pm Limassol Tetrafonia
ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Kulturzentrum in Limassol Marina
Karnevalslieder und Serenaden von der Limassols Tetrafonia (vier Voice-Männerchor). Die Veranstaltung wird mit freundlicher Unterstützung des ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Kulturzentrum statt.

8.30p.m. Universitätsplatz (CUT)
Die Limassol Gemeinde in Zusammenarbeit mit den Radiosender Klik Fm und Wahl Fm Co-Organisation für die 4th Jahr in Folge der Karneval Big Street Party.

Abend Carnival Parade
Donnerstag
Februar 23
7.30 Uhr Abend Carnival Parade
Startpunkt: Grigori Afxentiou Platz (Vor dem Bezirksbürogebäude).
Endpunkt:Mittelalterliche Burgplatz Die Limassol Gemeinde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein "Freunde von Limassol Karneval" co-organisiert einen Abend Carnival Parade.

8.30 Uhr Faschingsball in der mittelalterlichen Burgplatz.
Die Träume Chor und Elena Solea zusammen mit ihrem Orchester laden Sie ein, mit einem DJ-Programm zu den Rhythmen der populären Karnevalslieder, gefolgt zu singen und zu tanzen.
Freistil Karnevals-Kostüm-Wettbewerb. Prämiert werden die besten drei Teilnehmer gegeben werden.

Limassol Marina Square
Freitag
Februar 24
7.00 Uhr Limassol Marina Square
Die Limassol Gemeinde in Zusammenarbeit mit Limassol Marina einen Abend mit der Teilnahme des Modernoi Keri Chor, Limassol Serenaders, der Ariones Chor, den zyprischen Senenaders, der EDON Serenaders, der Chor des Kulturvereins EAC Arbeitnehmerserenaders organisieren und die Yialloura Chor.
Route: Irinis Straße (vor dem Monterni Keri Cultural Group) - mittelalterliche Burgplatz - Limassol Marina Square

Die Limassol Classic Cars Club wird rund um die Stadt in einer Karnevalsstimmung fahren.
Samstag
Februar 25
10.30 Uhr Die Gemeinde-Kinder Zug (Spende des Limassol Co-operative Sparkasse) wird in der Stadt unterwegs sein. Auf der ersten Tour auf 10.30a.m. die Epilogi Piccolo und Werkstatt Chor wird der Zug singt Karnevalslieder an Bord sein. Andere Touren werden folgen.
Startpunkt: Limassol Co-operative Sparkasse (Gladstonos Street).

3.00 pm Die Limassol Classic Cars Club wird rund um die Stadt in einer Karnevalsstimmung fahren.
Startpunkt: Enaerios Parkplatz.
Der Endpunkt: Grigori Afxentiou Platz (Vor dem Bezirksbürogebäude).

6.30 Uhr Serenaders "Parade
Gruppen von Serenaders wird bei 6.00 Uhr vor dem Rathaus versammeln. Bei 6.30 Uhr werden sie ein Ständchen zu starten, an der Grigori Afxentiou Platz endet (Vor dem Bezirksbürogebäude).

Von 5.00 Uhr ab dem Vokalensemble Georgiens Proto, der Chor "Mousikes Periplanisis" und der Emmelia Chor wird bei Grigori Afxentiou Platz singen.
Die Limassol Gemeinde lädt Sie zu singen und mit den Serenaders tanzen zusammen. Freie Wein wird angeboten.

Grand-Karnevals-Parade
Sonntag
Februar 26
Grand-Karnevals-Parade
Erzbischof Makarios III Avenue
Startpunkt: Ayios Nikolaos Round About
Endpunkt: Simillides Ampeln
1.00 pm Die Parade wird mit den Serenaders, die Limassol Majoretten der Zypern-Girl Guides Association, der Batukinio Perkussionsinstrumente Gruppe, die Limassol Majoretten und die Limassol Gemeinde Brass Band beginnen.
1.15 pm Die Parade wird von der Königin des Karnevals geführt werden, "Das tiefe Blau des Mittelmeers", Umgeben von einem Meer von Schwimmern und Fußgänger begleitet. Während der Parade wird ehemaligen Karnevalisten vom Limassol Gemeinde für ihren Beitrag zum Limassol Karneval geehrt.

9.00 Uhr Farewell Carnival Fiesta - Old Port-Platz
Der Karneval wird mit einer Karnevals-Party am Ort Enaerios Parkplatz beenden.
Free style Karnevals-Kostüm-Wettbewerb - Prämiert werden die besten drei Teilnehmer gegeben werden.

9.00 Uhr Parade von Limassol Majoretten und Batukinio Perkussionsinstrumente Gruppe - Marina Square
Startpunkt: Limassol Marina
Der Endpunkt: Old Port-Platz

KARNEVAL 2017
ARTIKEL Fotos von: Sergey Galyonkin
SLIDE PHOTO by: Petros Karadjias
ARTIKEL TEXT (KARNEVAL IN ZYPERN) von: Forum Private School
Das Programm unterliegt unerwartete Änderungen. | Für weitere Informationen: Kulturdienstleistungen, Limassol Gemeinde | Tel. 25 745919

enfrdeelitru

Limassol Carnival




Carnival in Cyprus | History

Carnival was being celebrated in ancient Greece. Celebrations were being organized in honor of god Dionissos. Ancient Greeks got dressed in various costumes, wore masks and had fun in feasts for days. Cypriots kept this custom. The origin of Carnival traces back to the very past and is closely linked with the history of the Greeks.

It seems that it is a festivity related to classical antiquity: the Dionysian festivals called “Dionysian”, during which a contest was taking place amongst three great tragedians of ancient Greece: Aeschylus, Euripides and Sophocles, three dramatists of our history. In ancient times, as far as we know and fromwhat we read , the actors used to wear masques during the dramatic spectacles and comedic performances. It is obvious that the modern way of disguising oneself during the carnivals festivities derives from this habit.

Carnival in Cyprus was associated with the beginning of the fasting of Easter. Carnival was called “Apokries” which means in Greek “without meat”. It was celebrated with feasts and traditional games. In addition, people got dressed in costumes and wore masks in order to scare others.

Just like many other festivities and cultural traditions, Cypriot carnival celebrations actually date back to the beginning of the last century, when homes in Limassol opened their doors and welcomed round friends and family for a feast of food and wine. Limassol holds the largest annual carnival in the island of Cyprus. The Limassol Carnival is an important institution: a tradition for the Limassolians, which remains alive and will survive throughout times.

The Limassol Carnival is however a feast that all of us expect to enjoy impatiently and willingly. It was celebrated in an organized way since the past, when groups of merrymakers from all the social strata of the city organized in their houses meetings and organized parades using donkeys, carriages, broughams and bikes. People of that area felt a vast satisfaction watching their fellow citizens disguised satirizing situations, persons and various things directly or indirectly linked with everyday life and the reality of their times.

Carnival is celebrated in towns all over Cyprus, but especially in the city of Limassol. In our days carnival events start on the “Shrove Thursday” (the last of eating meat) with the Carnival King entering the town in a festive atmosphere. Then follows, the children's parade, the various Serenades' shows and finally the Grand Carnival Parade which takes place on the last Sunday of the Carnival festivities.

Many people in fancy dresses participate to enjoy a special razzledazzle. Special consideration has been given to the decoration of the town. All the places where festivities are planned, as well as the central key points of the town, are decorated in an as ingenious way as possible.

Parties are held and people gather to feast, sing satirical songs and play games. The last Sunday of the “Cheese Week” is the highlight of the Carnival. This is when the Grand Carnival Parade takes place on the last “Green Monday ” or the first day of lent.

Colourful floats and groups of people, singing and dancing, parades in the main roads of Limassol create a truly festive atmosphere. The open-air celebrations and feasting take place throughout Cypriot towns but the Grand Parade in Limassol is the peak focus of the Carnival. During the Carnival parade large crowds from all over the island gather to watch the floats accompanied by the serenades and amazing costumed groups.

Limassol Carnival 2017

CARNIVAL 2017 16/2 – 26/2/2017 PROGRAM

CARNIVAL 2017 16/2 – 26/2/2017 PROGRAM

Tuesday
February 14
7.00 p.m. Limassol Marina Square
The Limassol Municipality in collaboration with Limassol Marina incorporate the rhythms of Carnival into the city’s pulse. Enjoy a musical program by the Ariones Choir followed by a Limassol Majorettes’ show. A parade will follow with ending point the ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Cultural Centre for the inauguration of the “Limassol Carnival 2016” exhibition.

7.30 p.m. ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Cultural Centre at Limassol Marina The Limassol Municipality and the Cyprus Photographic Society – Limassol Branch, co-organise the Pancyprian Photographic Competition and Exhibition on the theme of “Limassol Carnival 2016”. The exhibition will also feature a selection of photographs from various Carnival events. Carnival costumes will be exhibited.
Opening Days & Hours:
Wednesday, Feb. 15, 10.00 a.m. - 1.00 p.m. & 3.00 p.m. - 7.00 p.m.
Thursday, Feb. 16, 10.00 a.m. - 1.00 p.m.
The event will be held with the kind support of the ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Cultural Centre.

The Mayor Mr. Nicos Nicolaides will inaugurate the exhibition.

Theomaria Art Gallery

Wednesday
February 15

6.00 p.m.Town Hall
The Limassol Municipality and the Limassol Union of Self-Educated Painter coorganise an exhibition titled “Carnival 2017”. The Choir of the Kato Polemidia Municipality will participate.

7.00 p.m. Theomaria Art Gallery
(7, Vasilissis Karlottas & Elenis Paleologinas str.)
The Theomaria Art Gallery organises for the 11th consecutive year the carnival mask exhibition by Vera Efthimiou Parlalidou. Workshops on how to create and decorate ceramic and paper masks will be held from the 15th to the 25th of February.

The Mayor of Limassol Mr. Nicos Nicolaides will inaugurate the exhibitions.

The Limassol Serenaders will be singing at Saripolou Square.

Thursday
February 16
11.00 a.m.
Carnival fiestas in front of the Limassol Cooperative Savings Bank (Gladstonos street) and the Bank of Cyprus (Ayiou Andreou street).

12.30 p.m.
The Limassol Serenaders will be singing at Saripolou Square.

5.30 p.m. Town Hall
The Mayor and the Municipal Council, accompanied by the Limassol Municipality Brass Band and the Limassol Majorettes will parade through the streets up to the Grigoris Afxentiou square.

5.30 p.m. Grigori Afxentiou Square

Grigori Agxentiou Square (in front of the District Office) comes alive and lures us into the Carnival rhythms with the help of the radio producer Marios Papadopoulos.

The party continues with the Lime & Sol group and the Batukinio percussion instruments group, inviting us to dance to the rhythm of salsa.

7.00 p.m. The Queen of the Carnival, “The Deep Blue of the Mediterranean” will enter the city accompanied by her entourage. The Queen will be surrounded by the Mayor and the members of the Municipal Council, the royal family, groups of Serenaders, the Limassol Municipality Brass Band, the Limassol Majorettes of the Cyprus Girl Guides Association, the Batukinio percussion instruments group and the Limassol Majorettes.

The parade will set off from Grigoris Afxentiou Square (in front of the District Office Building) and will pass through the following streets: Anexartisias, Ayiou Andreou, Karaiskaki (Municipal Library), Stasinou and Andrea Drousioti streets and terminate at the Heroe’s square, where a party will take place to the sounds of the music group Ritmo di Carnaval.

Children’s Choirs – Pattihio Municipal Theatre
Friday
February 17
7.30p.m. Children’s Choirs – Pattihio Municipal Theatre
Evening of serenades and carnival songs by the Children's Choir of the Papadakion Municipal School of Music, the Music Workshop, Children's Choir and Piccolo of Epilogi, the Armonia Choir and the children's choirs of “Melodies kai Chromata” and Dreams' Choir.
Entrance: €5

The Municipality’s children’s train (donation of the Limassol Co-operative Savings Bank) will be touring around the city
Saturday
February 18
10.30a.m.
The Municipality’s children’s train (donation of the Limassol Co-operative Savings Bank) will be touring around the city. The first tour will take place at 10.30a.m. with the Epilogi Piccolo and Workshop Choir singing carnival songs. Other tours will follow.
Starting point: Limassol Co-operative Savings Bank (Gladstonos Street).

In the inner courtyard of the Limassol Cooperative Savings Bank, the Municipality of Limassol will be operating a workshop on confetti eggs made of wax as well as a crazy mask workshop.

11.00 a.m. – 2.00p.m. Grigoris Afxentiou Square (in front of the District Office Building)
The Limassol Municipality and the radio station Choice FM 104.3 co-organize a treasure hunt for the 9th consecutive year (for more information please call 25820820/ participations: www.choicefm.com.cy).

3.00 p.m. The Limassol Cycling Club will cycle in a carnival mood around the city.
Starting and Ending Point: Medieval Castle Square.

6.00 p.m. Serenaders’ Event at Hellenic Bank (52, Gladstonos str.)


The Hellenic Bank and the Limassol Serenaders, co-organize a festivity with serenades and carnival songs with the participation of the EDON Serenaders, the Moderni Keri Choir, the Ariones Choir and the Limassol Serenaders. Free drinks will be offered.

7:30 p.m. Studio 8 School of Art & Design (22, Panou Solomonide str.)
The Limassol Municipality and Studio 8 School of Art & Design invite everyone to join the event “Revival of the old Limassol Carnival days”. The event will be preceded by Mr. Mimis Sophocleous, Academic and Scientific Director of the Limassol Historical Archive and the Mayor of Limassol, Mr. Nicos Nicolaides, who will commence the opening of the exhibition.

The Limassol Municipality revives a satirical float of the late artist and creator Costas Mavrogenis, built in 1968.

Visitors will have the opportunity to enjoy a photography exhibition of carnival floats.

Children’s Carnival Parade
Sunday
February 19
11.30 a.m. Children’s Carnival Parade
Starting Point: Sea front road (opposite Citizen Service Centre - close to the old port round about).
Ending: Municipal Garden (south entrance)

6.00 p.m. Serenaders’ Event in front of the Perama Music Stage
Songs by the Georgalletos Serenaders. The event is dedicated to the memory of the founder of the group Giorgos Georgalletos.

The Giorgalletos Serenaders will be singing at Ayia Fyla quarter.
Monday
February 20
Serenaders at the Limassol neighbourhoods and quarters:
7.30 p.m. The Giorgalletos Serenaders will be singing at Ayia Fyla quarter.

Tuesday
February 21
Serenaders at the Limassol neighbourhoods and quarters:
7.30 p.m. The Cypriot Serenaders will be singing at Zakaki quarter.
7.30 p.m. The Monterni Keri Choir will be singing at the quarters of Apostolos Andreas and Ayios Ioannis.
7.30 p.m. The Edon Serenaders will be singing at Ayios Nicolaos quarter.

8.00 p.m. “Pellomaska” Parade
The Limassol Municipality in collaboration with the “Lemesos” newspaper are inviting you to join the “Pellomaska” Parade (crazy costume parade).
Starting Point: Heroes’ Square
Ending Point: Medieval Castle Square

8.30 p.m. Tuesday’s Carnival Fiesta at the Medieval Castle Square
People of all ages are invited by the Limassol Municipality to attend the event disguised and participate in a great carnival spree with music and dancing.
Free-style Carnival Costume Competition – Awards will be given to the best three participants.
Limassol’s Tetrafonia
Wednesday
February 22
7.30 p.m. Limassol’s Tetrafonia
ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Cultural Centre at Limassol Marina
Carnival songs and serenades by the Limassol’s Tetrafonia (Four Voice Men’s Choir). The event is held with the kind support of the ΤΡΑΚΑΣΟΛ Cultural Centre.

8.30p.m. University Square (CUT)
The Limassol Municipality in collaboration with the radio stations Klik Fm and Choice Fm co-organize for the 4th consecutive year the carnival Big Street Party.

Evening Carnival Parade
Thursday
February 23
7.30 p.m. Evening Carnival Parade
Starting Point: Grigori Afxentiou Square (In front of the District Office Building).
Ending Point:Medieval Castle Square The Limassol Municipality in collaboration with the association “Friends of Limassol Carnival” co-organize an Evening Carnival Parade.

8.30 p.m. Carnival Ball at the Medieval Castle Square.
The Dreams' Choir and Elena Solea along with their orchestra invite you to sing and dance to the rhythms of popular carnival songs, followed by a DJ programme.
Free-style Carnival Costume Competition. Awards will be given to the best three participants.

Limassol Marina Square
Friday
February 24
7.00 p.m. Limassol Marina Square
The Limassol Municipality in collaboration with Limassol Marina organize a Serenaders’ evening with the participation of the Modernoi Keri Choir, the Limassol Serenaders, the Ariones Choir, the Cypriot Senenaders, the EDON Serenaders, the Choir of the Cultural Association of EAC Employees and the Yialloura Choir.
Route: Irinis street (in front of the Monterni Keri Cultural Group) – Medieval Castle Square – Limassol Marina Square

The Limassol Classic Cars Club will drive around the city in a carnival mood.
Saturday
February 25
10.30 a.m. The Municipality’s children’s train (donation of the Limassol Co-operative Savings Bank) will be touring around the city. On the first tour at 10.30a.m. the Epilogi Piccolo and Workshop Choir will be on board the train singing carnival songs. Other tours will follow.
Starting point: Limassol Co-operative Savings Bank (Gladstonos Street).

3.00 p.m. The Limassol Classic Cars Club will drive around the city in a carnival mood.
Starting point: Enaerios Parking Place.
Ending point: Grigori Afxentiou Square (In front of the District Office Building).

6.30 p.m. Serenaders’ Parade
Groups of Serenaders will gather at 6.00 p.m. in front of the Town Hall. At 6.30 p.m. they will start serenading, ending at the Grigori Afxentiou Square (In front of the District Office Building).

From 5.00 p.m. onwards the Georgia Protopapa’s Vocal Ensemble, the choir “Mousikes Periplanisis” and the Emmelia Choir will be singing at Grigori Afxentiou Square.
The Limassol Municipality invites you to sing and dance along with the Serenaders. Free wine will be offered.

Grand Carnival Parade
Sunday
February 26
Grand Carnival Parade
Archbishop Makarios III Avenue
Starting Point: Ayios Nikolaos Round About
Ending Point: Simillides Traffic Lights
1.00 p.m. The parade will begin with the Serenaders, the Limassol Majorettes of the Cyprus Girl Guides Association, the Batukinio percussion instruments group, the Limassol Majorettes, and the Limassol Municipality Brass Band.
1.15 p.m. The Parade will be led by the Queen of the Carnival, “The Deep Blue of the Mediterranean”, accompanied by a sea of floats and pedestrians. During the parade, former carnivalists will be honoured by the Limassol Municipality for their contribution to the Limassol Carnival.

9.00 p.m. Farewell Carnival Fiesta – Old Port Square
The Carnival will end with a Carnival Party at the Enaerios parking place.
Free style Carnival Costume Competition – Awards will be given to the best three participants.

9.00 p.m. Parade of Limassol Majorettes and Batukinio percussion instruments group – Marina Square
Starting point: Limassol Marina
Ending point: Old Port Square

CARNIVAL 2017
ARTICLE PHOTOS by: Sergey Galyonkin
SLIDE PHOTO by: Petros Karadjias
ARTICLE TEXT (CARNIVAL IN CYPRUS) by: Forum Private School
The programme is subject to unexpected changes. | For information: Cultural Services, Limassol Municipality | Tel. 25 745919